Project TILT: 4G Cellular Wireless Standard

LTE Modem from Samsung
Bombarded by so many "launching of 4G technology" news today, I decided to research more on the subject. Here are a few things that I learned:
  1. Obviously, 4G is the successor of the 3G and 2G family of standards.
  2. ITU (International Telecommunication Union) established International Mobile Telecommunications Advanced (IMT-Advanced) Standard which defines the peak speed requirements for 4G standards, as follows:
    1. 100 Mbit per second for high mobility communication (e.g., trains, cars)
    2. 1 Gbit per second for low mobility communiaction (e.g., walking, stationary)
  3. Technically, only two standards under development have been accorded the official designation of "IMT-Advanced": LTE Advanced and WirelessMan Advanced.
  4. As the most advanced technology for wireless communication, IMT-Advanced is considered as "4G", however, current versions of LTE, WiMax, and other evolved 3G Technologies could be considered as "4G" provided that they represent forerunners to IMT-Advanced and "a substantial level of improvement in performance and capabilities with respect to the initial third generation systems now deployed".
  5. Current 3G Transitional Standards are:
    1. 3GPP Family: HSPA, HSPA+, LTE (E-ULTRA)
    2. IEEE Family: Mobile WiMAX, Flash-OFDM, IEEE 802.20
    3. 3GPP2 Family: EV-DO Rev. A, EV-DO Rev. B


Popular posts from this blog

Thirty One Years Ago

Project TILT: Ladies, how's your gait?